Registrations Buy 2020 JUNIOR Membership Buy 2020 ADULT Membership 2020 Indoor Cohort league Info
Contact after fully catching disc
Forum Home »  Rules »  Contact after fully catching disc
5 posts • Page 1 of 1 •  1
AuthorMessage
Will Nathan
Team Admin
Spin
Posts: 10

Back to top
Posted: Sun Nov 15, 2015

First I'd like to preface this by saying the team we played ended up calling the game a tie and were spiritedly friendly about it. But I'm asking for future reference so I know whether I am wrong.

1 minute left in the game. Score 21-19 for them. I was cutting horizontally across the end zone at full speed and caught a disc on the end zone. I fully stopped the rotation on the disc and then slammed into one of my own teammates at full speed. As a note if it matter I was fully feet on the ground and not jumping in the air. After slamming into my teammate I still retained the disc for another second before ultimately slamming into the ground and dropping the disc on impact.

By this point I had the disc fully in both hands for at least two seconds before dropping it.

Our bench yelled "point?" And then marked it. At this point there was about a minute left. Then ended up going down field but we intercepted and long bombed into the end zone. Our team marked the tie "21-21"

At this point is when we were told that wasn't a point, not on the play. The other team said they walked the frisbee to the line indicating no point at the time.

In the end they called the game a tie which was nice, but I want to know if I'm wrong. I was always under the impression if you "had control" or the disc and stopped rotation then it counted. Had I not slammed into the player I surely would have thrown the disc on the ground by then.

So am I totally wrong?

Thanks guys.
Will
Will Nathan
Team Admin
Spin
Posts: 10

Back to top
Posted: Sun Nov 15, 2015

To reply to my own thread the rule I see is:
:-\
Scoring
A goal is scored when an in-bounds player catches any legal pass in the end zone of attack, and retains possession of the disc throughout all ground contact related to the catch.
To be considered in the end zone after gaining possession of the disc in accordance with II.O.2 and XV.E, the player's first point of ground contact must be completely in the end zone.
When an in-bounds player in possession of the disc whose first ground contact will be completely within the end zone loses possession of the disc due to an uncontested foul, or lands out of the end zone due to an uncontested force-out foul (XVI.H.3.b.4), that player is awarded a goal.


Where possession is stopping rotation and having control and ground contact says as part he of catch. I guess the debatable part is I fully caught it. Took multiple upright steps and then slammed into my teammate. Slamming into him resulted in ground contact after possession.

So I still don't know the answer. :-\
Marc Zabudsky
League Admin

Huck University
Posts: 35

Back to top
Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2015

Sounds like a point from your perspective, however if the other team is contesting it (which seems to be the case), then it goes back to thrower. No point.

FYI there is a "Rules" spirit point section allowing captains to rank the other team based on their knowledge of rules and how they apply them.
Michael Sigsworth
Team Admin
Drop the Hammer
Posts: 95

Back to top
Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2015

I guess I maybe don't understand your call Bryce. If I understand what you are saying, you couldn't see the disc, so you called it down. I would think that is the wrong call. If in your opinion you see the disc, then I can appreciate the difference in opinion may exist. But if you can't see the disc...than I would think the correct call is no call.
Michael Sigsworth
Team Admin
Drop the Hammer
Posts: 95

Back to top
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015

I understand what you are saying. You don't think it is probably he was able to catch it. I guess my point is, and doesn't necessarily apply only to the situation we are talking about here, but all plays where you can't see what happened but are taking an educated guess:

XIX.G - Etiquette - "...assumption that players will not intentionally violate the rules..."

XVI.A - Violations and Fouls - "An infraction may only be called by a player on the infracted team who recognizes that it has occurred".

USA Ultimates interpretation of this last rule is:
"The player must know that a specific rule was violated and have perceived the particular action with certainty. A player may not call an infraction whenver the player maybe recognizes that some infraction might have occurred."

XV.E - The Receiver - "If it is unclear whether a catch was made before the disc contacted the ground (grass is considered part of the ground), or whether a player's first point of ground contact after catching the disc was in- or out-of-bounds or in or out of the end zone, the player with the best perspective makes the call."

Specifically as it relates to Bryce's call...I guess the last point would be what happens if "best perspective" does not exist? If no one can see, either everyone has "best perspective" or no one does. Which is it?

5 posts • Page 1 of 1 •  1
Forum Home »  Rules »  Contact after fully catching disc
Display messages from previous:  


 
  You can view topics in this forum
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot edit topics in this forum
New topics do not require approval in this forum
Site hosting by Teamopolis Inc. | Teams | Leagues | iPhone App | Sports Directory | Tools | Contact | Privacy | Terms and Conditions | Feedback | Help | Print