Registrations Buy 2020 JUNIOR Membership Buy 2020 ADULT Membership 2020 Indoor Cohort league Info
Can the thrower tip a disc?
Forum Home »  Rules »  Can the thrower tip a disc?
8 posts • Page 1 of 1 •  1
AuthorMessage
Anthony Puglisevich
Ultimate for Dummies
Posts: 2

Back to top
Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2016

Had this come up in our game on Sunday.

1. Person with the disc threw into the wind, disc will not reach intended receiver
2. Thrower runs over and tips the disc towards receiver (disc has no other contact before thrower tips the disc)
3. Receiver catches the disk

Is this allowed?
M. Zabudsky
Systems Admin

Highland Huckers
Posts: 251

Back to top
Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2016

Pivot is lost. It should have been a travel.
Jamie M
Ninja Squirrels
Posts: 9

Back to top
Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2016

XV The Receiver

A player may bobble the disc in order to gain control of it, but purposeful bobbling (including tipping, delaying, guiding, brushing or the like) to oneself in order to advance the disc in any direction from where it initially was contacted is considered traveling.

However, the rules include this sub-text: Tipping, brushing, etc. to someone else is legal. It is legal to tip/brush your own throw. However, if after a tip/brush, one is the first player to touch the disc, then it is deemed a tip/brush to oneself and it is a travel.


So, in this situation, the play should stand and continue.
Sounds like it was also a nice play/recovery.



M. Zabudsky
Systems Admin

Highland Huckers
Posts: 251

Back to top
Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2016

I re-read the rules after my post. The wording of the following quote isn't quite clear, maybe somebody can explain it:

However, if after a tip/brush, one is the first player to touch the disc, then it is deemed a tip/brush to oneself and it is a travel.


So assuming that the play Anthony described is valid and you are able to tip the disc after you have thrown it and lost your pivot, does this mean I can throw the disc, run 10 yards up-field to it then tip it to my player to catch and not have a travel call?

M. Zabudsky
Systems Admin

Highland Huckers
Posts: 251

Back to top
Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2016

Looks like the rules don't specifically say you can't do this because the thrower isn't actually catching the disc.

If legal, I would personally like to see a thrower MAC the disc down the field for a receiver to catch in the endzone in a game.

Here is some additional discussion:

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/upa_11th_edition_rules/O_Xsbu9W-E4
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/upa_11th_edition_rules/xoCrDqA-68Y
http://www.tuc.org/phpbbforum/viewtopic.php?t=10441

Anthony Puglisevich
Ultimate for Dummies
Posts: 2

Back to top
Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2016

I only skimmed those links but there doesn't seem to be a clear answer but consensus was leaning towards it is allowed.

Interesting. Not sure it's a strategy I would employ on a regular basis.
Kevin MacLeod
League Admin
Junior comp
Posts: 16

Back to top
Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2016

I don't think you are allowed to tip, brush or catch your own throw if no one has touched it after you throwing it. It just wouldn't make any sense. The rules are confusing. Perhaps they mean that you throw it, someone else makes contact and you then tip or brush it and then someone else catches it. Perhaps Bill will weigh in on this and settle it for us.
Victor Rehorst
Team Admin

Sonic Youth
Posts: 28

Back to top
Posted: Thu Sep 1, 2016

Reading this, I kept on thinking about rule XII.D.3, which says that if the throwercatches a thrown disc (which must be one that they themselves threw) it is a turnover and a stoppage of play, which has two exceptions: the thrower can catch a thrown disc if it touchesanother player first, and the thrower cannot intentionally deflect the disc off another player and then catch it.

(eg. you can't bounce the disc off the marker and catch it again to reset the stall count!)

But that rule really doesn't apply, because the thrower ultimately didn't catch their own throw.

So the way I read the rules, that play would actually be legal because:

  • The thrower is allowed to tip a thrown disc (XV.A).
  • Anyone, including the thrower, can tip a disc to another player, meaning they can only touch the disc one time before it touches another player (XV.A, "if, after a tip/brush, one is the first player to touch the disc, then it is a tip/brush to oneself and it is a travel.")
  • The thrower did not gain control of the disc during the tip, otherwise it would be a catch and XII.D.3 would apply.

    Discussion welcome! Before today, I didn't think that the thrower could tip the disc to another player, but it's in there.

  • 8 posts • Page 1 of 1 •  1
    Forum Home »  Rules »  Can the thrower tip a disc?
    Display messages from previous:  


     
      You can view topics in this forum
    You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot edit topics in this forum
    New topics do not require approval in this forum
    Site hosting by Teamopolis Inc. | Teams | Leagues | iPhone App | Sports Directory | Tools | Contact | Privacy | Terms and Conditions | Feedback | Help | Print